Git Gets An Upgrade

Git Windows LogoWell Git has gotten a new upgrade and it promises to be the best implementation yet for users.  This version has given some extra love to those Windows users because the new set of binaries are released for that platform as well.  If you just went by the release binaries then you were stuck at version 1.9.5 for a long while.

A new version has been released and this time everybody benefits!  One of the first things that you will notice is that it is a 64 bit version for Windows.
Git Latest Version

OK Eric, so tell me what is new? Let me hit all of the major bullet points for this release.

  • Git is now 64 bit which will address those issues with 32 bit. You can read about all of those here.
  • Git BASH – Git for Windows provides a BASH emulation used to run Git from the command line. *NIX users should feel right at home, as the BASH emulation behaves just like the “git” command in LINUX and UNIX environments.
  • Git GUI – As Windows users commonly expect graphical user interfaces, Git for Windows also provides the Git GUI, a powerful alternative to Git BASH, offering a graphical version of just about every Git command line function, as well as comprehensive visual diff tools.
  • Shell Integration – Simply right-click on a folder in Windows Explorer to access the BASH or GUI. The Git-Cheetah plugin also provides a TortoiseSVN-like interface that displays Git functions directly on the context menu.

While my personal favorite is the Git BASH (Bourne Again Shell), a lot of Windows users have migrated to the Git GUI interface. I use the tool Console2 to house all of my command windows. Console_128I like the tabbed interface and it allows me to keep track of what is going on and where. Unfortunately for me the setup that I had for the older Git did not work in Console2. The fix was relatively easy and I’ll show you here.

Console2 Settings
Here in my settings you can see that I have two tabs setup. I’ve called one “Git Shell Console” and one “Git Bash Console” This will enable me to use whichever one that I want to accomplish the given task. Keep in mind that the differences between them can be subtle. Here is the “Shell” line for each one:

  • Shell Integration – C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /C “C:\Program Files\Git\bin\sh.exe” –login -i
  • BASH – C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /C “C:\Program Files\Git\bin\bash.exe” –login -i

As you can see it is small change to call the Windows Command Processor before you call the executable. This will allow the program to execute within the confines of the Console2 program.

I hope this helps. If you have any comments or suggestions, just drop me a line. If I helped you out don’t forget to click the “Like” button

Here is a link to the release notes for those who want to see in detail what was changed. Git Release Notes (2015-08-28)

Leave a Reply

