Android Love

Anyone who knows me can tell you that I love my Android phone. I do, I just love them! I can’t help it I just love the way they work.
image

I started my android life off with the Samsung Galaxy (Vibrant) phone that was running Android 2.1.  It was the very first in Samsung’s very successful Galaxy series phone.  It’s such a good phone that I’ve wiped it, reloaded it with a custom rom from Cyanogenmod and gave it to my son as his very first phone.  Sporting Wifi, interal and external storage and a super AMOLED screen it makes  pretty darn good phone. Just check out what CNET had to say about it when it came out, Samsung Vibrant Review.

After needing to update my phone to something newer, and having a extremely tight budget I thought that I would opt for one of the free phones from my carrier.  I got the myTouch that was built by Huawei.  You can view the full specifications of that phone here.  While not a steller phone, it did survive a trip to the bottom of the San Gabrial river and still worked.  Still it was a free phone and it felt and looked like a free phone.

Finally it was time to upgrade my phone again. I decided that this time I was going to get the phone that I wanted. After a lot of research, I settled on the Google Nexus 5. The phone had all of the specifications of what I needed. I wanted to find it was at least a quad core processor and it had to be inexpensive. As I’ve already told you; I’m on an extremely tight budget. One of the biggest requirements for me is that it didn’t have a lot of carrier garbage on it. You know that stuff the carriers put on to make their phones more useful which ultimately degrade the phone you can’t uninstall the app because it’s part of the ROM on the phone. Even phone manufacturers are getting in on this you can buy an HTC without a bunch of HTC stuff on it. I wanted just a pure Android phone that had, well Android on it. I thought why not get the phone with the operating system built for then I don’t have to worry about a bunch of incompatibilities. It didn’t hurt that for the same hardware specifications in a Samsung phone I would’ve paid twice as much!

Please don’t misunderstand me, I’m not dogging on Samsung or even HTC for that matter. As a matter of fact I happen to get my wife the most popular Android cell phone out there a Galaxy S5. I like her phone too, it has a 16 megapixel camera as well as a Super AMOLED screen that is just gorgeous to look at!

Unlike Windows or the iOS of the iPhone Android is an open operating system which allows open source developers to bring what they think is best to the table. Some of these get incorporated into the main trunk is Google thinks they’re a good idea. One such group of open source developers or the folks over at http://www.android-x86.org. They took it upon themselves to port the Android operating system over to an x86 processor that means any computer that is running an Intel Atom, Pentium, or AMD Processor! Think of what this means for all those underpowered netbooks out there such as my 5 year old ASUS EeePC. After all it has two gigs of RAM and a dual core Intel Atom processor and a whole lot more storage. So it can’t make phone calls and doesn’t have a GPS but who cares? So I went about downloading the ISO image putting it on a USB stick and loading it on my computer. I couldn’t be happier. The computer is running better than it did when it had Windows XP on it the operating system that the computer was actually designed for. My only issue that I’ve had so far is that I can’t get it to boot off of the hard drive but it boots off of the USB stick and runs a live Android version just fine. This got me thinking that if I could bring life back to my netbook think of what I could do for all of those old computers out there?

PS: I’ve written this post to y’all on my ASUS Eee PC Netbook (1101HAB) running Android 4.0 x86 edition. Get out there and start experimenting! Stop throwing old hardware away when you can breathe new life into it! Most of all have fun with it!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

